Apex Legends - New Legend | Season 13: Newcastle

With the new season just around the corner, here's everything we know about the new Legend joining the Apex Games. We've got their backstory, and we know their abilities and their ult. But will this new Legend be meta?
Newcastle Season 13 Legend
Meet our newest Legend: Newcastle. | © EA

Apex Legends Season 13 is just around the corner, and that means new locations, new heirlooms, new skins, and of course, one new Legend. Earlier in Season 12, we believed the new legend to be the leaked character, Jester, but it seems that isn't so. Instead, our newest Legend is the chap you can see above: Newcastle.

Who Is The New Legend For Season 13?

The new Legend joining the Apex Games is Bangalore's long-lost brother, Newcastle. He's going to be a support hero who focuses on protecting and reviving downed allies, and from what little we've seen of him, he seems kind of cocky. It looks like him and Bangalore will be constantly arguing if you put them together. But that would still be better than dialogue from the most annoying Legends in the game.

When Will The New Legend Be Released?

Newcastle will be released when Season 13 launches, on Tuesday, May 10, 2022. This new season will almost certainly launch at the same time as the weekly update, 10:00 PT (13:00 ET, 18:00 GMT, 19:00 CET). But we will be able to offer further confirmation as we approach that date.

New Legend: Newcastle | Abilities

You can see these abilities in a new trailer here:


Newcastle's Tactical: Mobile Shield

  • Official description: Throw a controllable drone that creates a moving energy shield.

In the trailer, it looks more like Gibraltar's shield, but if in practice this shield is separate from you and remote-controlled. It could be broken, but we need to see how limited this ability actually is.

Newcastle's Passive: Retrieve The Wounded

  • Official description: Drag downed allies as you revive and protect them with your revive shield.

The ability to drag allies will be useful, of course, but this isn't going to be game-breaking, especially given how much downed allies can move by themselves without assistance.

Newcastle's Ultimate: Castle Wall

  • Official description: Leap and slam to a target ally or area and create a fortified stronghold.

This is the most exciting of the abilities, but the trailer doesn't show us what this wall looks like in practice. It's very hard to know how this will work or exactly how good it will be, but it certainly doesn't sound like the easiest ult to use effectively.

And that's all we know so far about the new Legend joining the Apex Games in Season 13. Newcastle seems fun, but we'll have to see how many people think he's better than Lifeline, because that's basically the same role he's trying to fill in a squad. What do you think? Could this be your new main?