Apex Legends: What Is Flashpoint?

A new event has started in Apex Legends, Unshackled, and as part of that event, we have a limited-time-mode available to play. This new mode is called Flashpoint, and here's how it works.
What is flashpoint
How does this new game mode work? | © EA

In case you missed it, the Unshackled event has started in Apex Legends. And if you've been around for a couple of seasons then you know what this means: some new skins, some new challenges, a little extra story, and...(drum roll, please) a new limited-time-mode! This new limited-time-mode is called Flashpoint, and while it isn't exactly a high-effort attempt by Respawn, it's a half-decent mode to try. Here's how it works.

What Is Flashpoint In Apex Legends?

Flashpoint is a new Battle Royale style game mode that will be available to play throughout the course of the Unshackled event. The general idea of this mode is that you can recharge armor and health for free in certain protected zones, but you won't find any syringes, shield cells or shield batteries on the map. Here are the exact rules for Flashpoint:

  • All healing items have been removed from ground loot.
  • Health and shields can be recharged in blue domes dotted around the map (they're easy to spot, and very large).
  • The ring is constantly collapsing in this mode, rather than in phases.

And that's how Flashpoint works. It's really not different enough to the ordinary modes to stand out, but it's not unenjoyable.

How Long Will Flashpoint Be Available?

Flashpoint will be available to play for two weeks, until the end of the Unshackled event on Tuesday, May 3, at the usual update time (10:00 PT / 13:00 ET / 18:00 GMT / 19:00 CET). Throughout the course of the event, you can earn a couple of extra cosmetics just by playing. Although, these free cosmetics are all pretty lame compared to the premium items released as part of the Unshackled event (typical).

And then not long after the Unshackled event concludes, we'll get the new season, and with it, a new Legend to play with.