Fortnite Ranked System: All Ranks & How To Rank Up

The Fortnite Ranked system is a new competitive mode in the game that replaces the old Arena mode. Here's everything you need to know about Fortnite ranks.

Fortnite ranked
Fortnite introduces a brand new ranked system! | © Epic Games

Out of nowhere, Epic Games has announced that the Arena mode in Fortnite will be discontinued and replaced with a new ranked game mode. The ranked system will be available starting May 17 with the release of Fortnite v24.40 for Fortnite Battle Royale and Zero Build. We've got all the details on ranks, how you level up, and more for you.

Free Fortnite Codes: Where To Find Them And How To Redeem Them

The Fortnite Ranked System

Fortnite's Ranked system starts with Season Zero. From then until the end of Chapter 4 Season 3, you'll have time to prove your skill in Ranked matches, and from Bronze onwards, advance up to 7 ranks. When you reach the final rank, Unreal, you will receive a number indicating your worldwide position among Unreal players.

With a consistently good performance in Ranked matches, you can increase this number and join the ranks of the best Fortnite players in the world!

How To Fix Lag In Fortnite

The Ranked system modes

Battle Royale

  • Solo
  • Duos
  • Squads

Zero Build

  • Duos

All Fortnite Ranks: From Bronze to Unreal

Ranked system ranks
All Fortnite ranks. | © Epic Games

The following Fortnite ranks are available:

  • Bronze (I, II, III)
  • Silver (I, II, III)
  • Gold (I, II, III)
  • Diamond (I, II, III)
  • Platinum (I, II, III)
  • Elite
  • Champion
  • Unreal

The Bronze through Diamond gradations will also each be divided into three ranks, while Elite, Champion, and Unreal will each consist of only one rank.

How To Level Up in the Fortnite Ranked System

Bruno Mars Fortnite
Fortnite is getting a Ranked Mode like Valorant and Rocket League. | © Epic Games

Ranking up and down in Fortnite Ranked depends on both your placement in the match and the number of eliminations you or the team has achieved. Eliminations in the later stages of the match count more than eliminations at the beginning of the match, so it makes perfect sense to focus more on the late game. Also, the ranks of the players eliminated by you or your team are taken into account.

Get some of the best gear for gaming right here on Amazon!

Teams are considered as one unit - based on eliminations and team rank, all team members will gain or lose the same amount of progress. Note that your team's rank is determined based on the player with the highest rank on the team. For example, if a team consists of players with Gold I and Silver I ranks, it will use the Gold I rank when searching for players and will compete against players with similar ranks.

Fortnite NPC Locations: All Characters And Where To Find Them

If you want to view your progress, you need to set "Ranked" to "On" in the lobby. You will then find your current rank on the left of the screen.

In Season Zero, your reward will be the "Burn Bright" emote. When you activate the emote, it will display the color of your current rank.

This article contains affiliate links which are marked with [shopping symbol]. These links can provide a small commission for us under certain conditions. This never affects the products price for you.