Tom Clancy's XDefiant is Ubisoft's New Free-To-Play Shooter!

Tom Clancys X Defiant
XDefiant will be free-to-play! | © Ubisoft

Ubisoft has announced a new free-to-play shooter out of nowhere. Tom Clancy's XDefiant is a fast paced arena shooter that caters to competitive as well as more casual players. It will be available on all platforms – except the Switch – and feature four factions with special passive traits and abilities. Let's take a look at Tom Clancy's XDefiant.

We all know Ubisoft and Tom Clancy from shooters like The Division, Rainbow Six, Splinter Cell or Ghost Recon. All titles with a rather tactical approach and, especially with their huge success Rainbow Six Siege, nothing for the usual casual gamer. XDefiant seems to be a more casual shooter that combines factions from the formerly mentioned games. Without further ado, here is the reveal trailer for Tom Clancy's XDefiant:

What is Tom Clancy's XDefiant?

Tom Clancy’s XDefiant is a free-to-play multiplayer competitive shooter which brings together multiple Clancy franchises to form a roster of customizable characters, known as Defiants, for players to choose from. Matches will take place across several maps with several game modes. Each character in the game has its own passive traits and abilities depending on the faction he belongs to.

What are XDefiant's Factions?

The game will launch with four different factions that work like classes in for example Battlefield. Here are the starting factions of XDefiant:

  • Wolves (from Ghost Recon)
  • Echelon (from Splinter Cell)
  • Outcasts (from The Division)
  • Cleaners (from The Division)

Wolves will be tanks and have more health than the other factions as well as shield based abilities. Echelon will be the support class, Cleaners the assault and Outcasts will be healers. There are no details on the specific traits and abilities of the different classes yet. However, the devs confirmed that XDefiant will be shooter first, abilities second. While abilities, traits, and ultras can provide useful advantages against your competition, there’s no replacement for solid shooting skills.

Read More:

What are Defiants in XDefiant?

Defiants are characters within the four factions that can be picked and personalized to match playstyles. With the beginning of each round players can choose a faction with unique traits and abilities and then arm and personalize their Defiant with primary and secondary weapons, attachements and a device. The personal loadouts can be altered with every respawn, so players can adapt to the enemy team.

What Maps and Modes will XDefiant have?

XDefiant will launch with a total of 10 maps and 5 game modes. Seven of the maps will be regular arena maps, while 3 will be linear maps. For the arena maps the game modes Domination, Ring Leader and Upload will be available, for the linear maps Escort and Control.

When is the XDefiant Release Date?

We don't have a release date yet, but play tests will begin on August 5 in the US and Canada. XDefiant will be available for PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, PC, Ubisoft Connect, Stadia, Luna, with full cross-play available at launch. Everyone in the US and Canada can apply for a chance to join the play tests. Other regions will roll out afterwards.

July Giveaway
Click me!

Folks, let’s be real here: Nobody likes ads, everybody likes raffles and we all wanna feel special. Right? Sign up for MyEarlyGame and you get just that: No ads, the content you wanna see & a chance to win free stuff. No brainer, really.