Captain America & Black Panther Game To Be Set During WW2

There's a new superhero game on the way from the maker of Uncharted 4. It's going to feature Captain America and Black Panther against the forces of Hydra, and it's set during... World War 2?!

Captain America Black Panther Game To Be Set During WW2
I'll See You On The Beach. | © Disney / Paramount Pictures

Captain America makes sense in a World War 2 setting. After all, the character was created during WW2 and some of his first enemies were from Nazi Germany and the Empire of Japan. But Black Panther?

The Black Panther first appeared in 1966, and although there would have been a chief of the Panther Tribe in the 1940s, we've never seen them facing off against World War 2 villains before. Normally the Black Panther is fighting "traditional" super villains, not generals and spies. But we're getting ahead of ourselves, first, let's look at this recent leak.

The Captain America & Black Panther Game

Amy Hennig, the director of Uncharted 4, is working on a new game that will feature Captain America and Black Panther, and it's reportedly going to be set during WW2. The fact that Amy Hennig is working on this game has already been confirmed, but we hadn't heard about the WW2 setting until now:

This has us even more excited than we were when we first heard about the open-world Black Panther game. It could be a refreshing new angle for an over-saturated genre. Of course, it could also flop, but we don't want to be too pessimistic.

If you're interested in hearing more about this game, Marvel are set to present the Hennig's project at a showcase planned for September 9. Disney and Marvel will host the event at 13:00 PT (16:00 ET / 21:00 BST / 22:00 CEST), and you can watch it live here.

We could see some famous faces and armies in this WW2 superhero game, but you know what organization we won't see?