What Is Warzone's New Totally Normal BR Mode?

Just in time for April 1st, Raven Software is introducing two new modes for Warzone. What are Totally Normal BR and Totally Normal Rebirth Resurgence?
Warzone Totally normal br
How do the new modes work on April 1? | © Activision

Just in time for April 1, 2022, there are two strange new game modes in the Warzone playlist. Of course, once again, everyone on the internet is trying to prank as many people as possible today, and whether you think it's funny or not, the new Warzone modes are actually pretty darn fun!

If some might have hoped that Verdansk would return as an April Fool's joke, we're sorry to disappoint you. Caldera and Rebirth Reinforced are still there, but there are two new game modes that change a lot in terms of gameplay...

Update April 21 - Totally Normal BR Returns For 420

In celebration of a certain illicit substance, Call of Duty are celebrating with a Snoop Dogg skin and the return of Totally Normal BR. This mode is only active until April 21 10:00 PT (13:00 ET / 18:00 GMT / 19:00 CET). You can read exactly how this mode works below.

What is Totally Normal BR & Rebirth Resurgence?

"Totally Normal BR" is basically the old familiar Battle Royale mode on Caldera, with some fun gameplay changes. In addition, "Totally Normal Rebirth Resurgence" actually runs just like a regular Rebirth Resurgence match with said gameplay tweaks. Now, what are the fun changes though? Well, here's a short list:

  • No drop damage
  • Free loadout
  • Specialist Perk for all
  • Panzerfaust at the start
  • Infinite Gulag


Yes, you did read that right. At the start of the match, we are dropped without a parachute, but we also take no fall damage. You've probably never started a match this fast before. Also, right at the start of the game, all players get the incredibly powerful Specialist Perk, which gives you all the perks available in Warzone at once.

To make matters even more chaotic, there are also free loadout drops right from the start of the match and every player starts with a Bazooka. By the way, you can enter the Gulag as many times as you want, so long as you follow our tips, it doesn't matter how many times you die in BR.

That all sounds fun, but did you know that the bazookas - and all the other explosives - don't work like they used to? Explosions now catapult players meters into the air or into the middle of nowhere. This not only looks fun, but also opens up completely new ways of playing:

Rocket Jumps in Call of Duty, who would have thought of that? So don't waste any time, start-up Warzone right now and play one of the funniest modes in a good long time before it disappears once more...

This article was originally written by Lukas Ballat.