Kommt Perfect Dark auf den PC?

Falls ihr es noch nicht wusstet: Perfect Dark wird von Crystal Dynamics und The Initiative für die Xbox Series X und S neu aufgelegt. Aber es kommt auch für den PC, also lasst uns herausfinden, worum es bei diesem Spiel geht.
2022 04 183 Perfect Dark
Wer ist bereit erneut in Perfect Dark einzutauchen? | © The Initiative and Crystal Dynamics

Zwölf Jahre sind vergangen, seit Microsoft Game Studios Perfect Dark für die Xbox 360 auf den Markt gebracht hat. Doch das kultige Franchise will jetzt auf der Xbox Series X/S und dem PC ein neues Revival feiern.

Ihr habt richtig gehört: Wir werden eine aktualisierte Version von Perfect Dark von Crystal Dynamics und The Initiative erhalten. Wir wissen, dass The Initiative das Reboot auf dem Originalspiel von Nintendos N64 aufbaut, was bedeutet, dass die Story-Komponenten des Perfect Dark Reboots bereits feststehen. Ansonsten gibt es aber nur wenige Informationen über das Gameplay und die Multiplayer-Features. Wir wissen nicht einmal, ob Perfect Dark einen Multiplayer bekommt. Aber macht euch keine Sorgen, denn wir haben hier alles zusammengetragen, was ihr über die PC-Version von Perfect Dark wissen müsst.

Was ist die Story von Perfect Dark?

Es wurde bestätigt, dass es um eine Umweltkatastrophe geht, die die Welt mit Dürre und Überschwemmungen heimgesucht hat. Das veranlasst zwei riesige Konzerne dazu, gegeneinander zu kämpfen und um die Interessen der Menschheit zu buhlen. Was die meisten Menschen jedoch nicht wissen, ist, dass beide Konzerne insgeheim von zwei außerirdischen Spezies namens Maian und Skedar geleitet werden.

Die Kampagne dreht sich natürlich um die Vernichtung dieser Aliens. Leider wissen wir noch nicht, wie das erreicht werden soll, bis Crystal Dynamics und The Initiative Perfect Dark für den PC veröffentlichen. Hoffen wir, dass das nicht mehr zu lange dauern wird.

Wann kommt Perfect Dark für den PC?

Leider können wir damit wohl nicht vor dem dritten/vierten Quartal 2023 rechen. Ursprünglich haben wir erwartet, dass Crystal Dynamics und The Initiative Perfect Dark noch dieses Jahr auf den Markt bringen, aber Covid-19 hat die ganze Entwicklung ins Stocken gebracht. Das dürfte allerdings niemanden mehr überraschen, denn auch große Spiele wie Hogwarts Legacy wurden durch die Pandemie verzögert.

Wir werden also noch ein weiteres Jahr auf den Reboot von Perfect Dark warten müssen. Allerdings muss das ja nicht nur schlecht sein, da Crystal Dynamics und The Initiative so mehr Zeit haben, um Perfect Dark zu perfektionieren. Wir hoffen zumindest, dass sie die zusätzliche Zeit dafür nutzen.

Welche PC Features hat Perfect Dark?

2022 04 182 Perfect Dark
Ein unbekannter Ort in der Perfect Dark-Welt. | © The Initiative and Crystal Dynamics

Für ausführlichere Informationen zu den PC-Features müsst ihr leider später nochmal zu diesem Artikel zurückkehren. Crystal Dynamics und The Initiative haben bisher noch nicht viel zum Perfect Dark Reboot bekannt gegeben. Es gibt keine Informationen, über spezifische PC-Funktionen, aber wir spekulieren hier schonmal ein bisschen.

Wenn man sich die früheren Spiele ansieht, die Crystal Dynamics für die Xbox entwickelt hat (z. B. die Tomb Raider-Reihe), kann man schon erraten, welche Features es wohl geben könnte. Dazu gehören:

  • Xbox Cloud-Speicher für Spielstände, Erfolge und Matchmaking.
  • Tastatur- und Mausunterstützung für anpassbare Layouts.
  • Unterstützung für eine Reihe von Gamepads.

Das sind die Standardfunktionen, die Crystal Dynamics bekanntermaßen in seinen Spielen bietet. Es gibt jedoch zusätzliche Optionen für Personen, die über höherwertige GPUs und CPUs verfügen. Wir können also vermutlich auch mit dem Folgenden rechnen:

  • Hochauflösende Texturen
  • Detail Tesselierung
  • LOD-Qualität
  • SSAO

Denkt aber bitte daran, dass Crystal Dynamics und The Initiative keines der von uns aufgeführten Features bestätigt haben. Unsere Angaben sind spekulativ, und wir werden euch natürlich informieren, sobald es offizielle Infos gibt.

Kommt Perfect Dark für das Steam Deck?

2022 04 18 Perfect Dark
Alles deutet darauf hin, dass das Scannen von Umgebungen ein wichtiger Bestandteil von Perfect Dark sein wird. | © The Initiative and Crystal Dynamics

Seit dem 18. März bietet das Steam Deck Unterstützung für den Xbox Game Pass. Das bedeutet, dass eine Auswahl an Spielen zum Download zur Verfügung stehen wird. Doch wird die Konsole den Perfect Dark Reboot bewältigen können? Wir denken nicht. Perfect Dark soll ein Next-Gen-Spiel werden und das dürfte für das kleine Steam Deck dann doch zu anspruchsvoll werden.

Perfect Dark benötigt Komponenten, die das Steam Deck wahrscheinlich nicht hat, und wenn man es doch zum Laufen bekommt, wird es wahrscheinlich schnell überhitzen oder andere Probleme machen.

Wir würden jedem davon abraten, Perfect Dark auf dem mobilen Handheld von Valve zu installieren.

Trailer

Niemand hatte erwartet, dass Crystal Dynamics und The Initiative Perfect Dark auf der Game Awards Show 2020 ankündigen würden. Das hat die gesamte Branche schockiert, denn die Reihe galt schon lange als tot. Aber Microsoft hat bewiesen, dass sie bereit sind, Perfect Dark die angemessene Behandlung zukommen zu lassen, die es verdient – was der Trailer zeigt.

Man sieht, dass sich in einer futuristischen Version Ägyptens eine Umweltkatastrophe abspielt, aber dann erfahren wir, dass diese klimatischen Ereignisse global sind und dass wir die Hilfe von Agent Dark brauchen, um die bösen Außerirdischen zu besiegen. Klingt spannend.

Systemanforderungen

Wir sind uns sicher, dass ihr inzwischen bemerkt habt, dass es noch keinerlei offizielle Infos über die PC-Features oder Systemanforderungen für Perfect Dark gibt, aber das hat Insider-Quellen nicht davon abgehalten, die potenziell erforderlichen Komponenten für einen PC zu nennen. Wir haben die wahrscheinlichsten Komponenten für alle Interessierten rausgesucht.

Minimale PC Systemanforderungen

BetriebssystemWindows 10 & Windows 11 (64-Bit oder Später)
CPUIntel Core i5-7500 / AMD Ryzen 3-1300
RAM8GB
SpeicherTBC
Hi-Rez Assets CacheTBC
Grafikkarte (GPU)Nvidia GeForce 2060 Ti / AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Video-SpeicherDirectX - Version 12
GrafiktreiberTBC

Empfohlene PC Systemanforderungen

BetriebssystemWindows 10 & Windows 11 (64-Bit oder Später)
CPUIntel Core i9-12900T / AMD Ryzen 5900
RAM12GB
SpeicherTBC
Hi-Rez Assets CacheTBC
Grafikkarte (GPU)Nvidia GeForce 3060 Ti / AMD RX 6600 XT
Video-SpeicherDirect X - Version 12
GrafiktreiberTBC

Is Perfect Dark Coming To PC?

If you didn't know, Perfect Dark is being rebooted by Crystal Dynamics and The Initiative for the Xbox Series X and S. But it's also coming out for the PC, so let's find out what this game is all about.
2022 04 183 Perfect Dark
Who's ready to return to the world of Perfect Dark? | © The Initiative and Crystal Dynamics

Twelve years have passed since Microsoft Game Studios launched Perfect Dark for the Xbox 360. However, this iconic franchise wants to make an unexpected return with the Xbox Series X/S and PC.

You heard us right; we’ll be receiving an updated version of Perfect Dark from Crystal Dynamics and The Initiative. We know that The Initiative is basing this reboot on the original game from Nintendo’s N64, meaning that storyline components regarding the Perfect Dark Reboot have already been revealed. Otherwise, there’s little information on the gameplay and multiplayer features. We don’t even know if Perfect Dark will maintain a multiplayer component. But our readers shouldn’t worry, as we’ve located everything you need to know about the PC version of Perfect Dark.

What Is The Storyline For Perfect Dark?

It's been confirmed that the storyline follows an ecological disaster that has befallen the world, with drought and floods plaguing it. This prompts two massive corporations to fight against each other, as they bid for humanity's interest. But what most people don’t know is that these corporations are secretly run by two alien species named the Maian and Skedar races.

The campaign will lean towards the destruction of these corporate aliens. Unfortunately, nobody will know how this is accomplished until Crystal Dynamics and The Initiative launch Perfect Dark for the PC. Let’s hope that’s sooner than later, but for now, let’s learn about the PC version of this upcoming game.

When Is Perfect Dark Coming To The PC?

Unfortunately, nobody will have the opportunity to purchase and experience this game until Q3/Q4 2023. It was initially expected that Crystal Dynamics and The Initiative would launch Perfect Dark this year, but things changed when Covid-19 prompted delays in the development schedule. This shouldn't surprise anyone, as massive games like Hogwarts Legacy were delayed following the pandemic.

We will have to wait an additional year for the reboot of Perfect Dark. However, there’s an argument that this isn’t a negative but a positive, as Crystal Dynamics and The Initiative will maintain the extra time needed to overhaul Perfect Dark. This should only mean a superior experience for everyone that buys this upcoming FPS.

Which PC Features Will Perfect Dark Have?

2022 04 182 Perfect Dark
An unknown location in the Perfect Dark world | © The Initiative and Crystal Dynamics

You’ll need to check back with us for more information on the PC features. Why, might you ask? Crystal Dynamics and The Initiative haven’t provided an extensive briefing on the Perfect Dark Reboot. There isn’t any information available to confirm or speculate about the PC features, but you know us, we can’t help ourselves.

Looking at the previous games that Crystal Dynamics has developed for Xbox (i.e. the Tomb Raider franchise), you can see which features are commonplace. Those include:

  • Xbox Cloud Storage for saves, achievements, and matchmaking.
  • Keyboard and mouse support for customizable layouts.
  • Support for an assortment of gamepads.

These are the standard features that Crystal Dynamics is known to introduce throughout their games. However, additional options exist for individuals that maintain higher-grade GPUs and CPUs. As such, you should likely have the opportunity to use the following features within Perfect Dark.

  • High-Resolution Textures
  • Detail Tessellation
  • LOD Quality
  • SSAO

It’s noted that Crystal Dynamics and The Initiative haven’t confirmed any of the features we’ve listed. Our input is speculative, and we’ll be sure to inform you whenever an official account of the PC features has been confirmed.

Is Perfect Dark Coming To The Steam Deck?

2022 04 18 Perfect Dark
Everything indicates that scanning environments will become a massive part of Perfect Dark | © The Initiative and Crystal Dynamics

Since March 18th, the Steam Desk has maintained support for the Xbox Game Pass. That means an assortment of high-quality games has been made available for download. However, will the console be capable of managing the Perfect Dark Reboot? We’d estimate not. Why, might you ask? Because this upcoming FPS will genuinely be a next-gen game.

Perfect Dark will require components that the Steam Deck likely won’t have, and if players are somehow capable of installing Perfect Dark to this console, they’ll experience severe overheating issues. It would result in their Steam Deck being broken over a shortened time.

We’d highly recommend against anyone installing Perfect Dark to Valve’s mobile handheld.

Game Trailer

Nobody expected Crystal Dynamics and The Initiative to announce Perfect Dark at the 2020 Game Awards Show. It shocked the entire industry, as this franchise had been long considered dead. But Microsoft has proven they’re willing to give Perfect Dark the proper treatment it deserves, which is evident by the trailer.

You can see that an ecological disaster is taking place in a futuristic version of Egypt, but then we learn that these climatic events are global and that we’ll need the assistance of Agent Dark to overcome the evil of these corporate aliens. It sounds pretty exciting!

Game System Requirements

We’re sure that you’ve realized there isn’t an official account of the features or game system requirements for Perfect Dark, but that hasn’t stopped inside sources from delegating the potential components required for a PC. We’ve delved into those components for anyone interested, and we think you’ll be thoroughly surprised with what gaming analysts are expecting for Perfect Dark.

Minimum PC System Requirements

CategorySystem Requirements
Operating SystemWindows 10 & Windows 11 (64-Bit or Later)
CPUIntel Core i5-7500 / AMD Ryzen 3-1300
RAM8GB
Storage SpaceTBC
Hi-Rez Assets CacheTBC
Video Card (GPU)Nvidia GeForce 2060 Ti / AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Video MemoryDirectX - Version 12
Graphics DriverTBC

Recommended PC System Requirements

CategorySystem Requirements
Operating SystemWindows 10 & Windows 11 (64-Bit or Later)
CPUIntel Core i9-12900T / AMD Ryzen 5900
RAM12GB
Storage SpaceTBC
Hi-Rez Assets CacheTBC
Video Card (GPU)Nvidia GeForce 3060 Ti / AMD RX 6600 XT
Video MemoryDirect X - Version 12
Graphics DriverTBC