Ultimativer Guide zum Ranking System in League of Legends

Hast du dir jemals Gedanken über das LoL Ranking System gemacht? Wir haben alle wichtigen Informationen zu den LoL Ranks hier für dich gesammelt.

Lo L Ranks Thumbnail
Na, bist du auch stuck in Gold? | © Riot Games

League of Legends ist eins der populärsten Online Games überhaupt. Allein im Jahr 2020 hatte League of Legends mehr als 110 Millionen aktive Spieler. Das bereits 10 Jahre alte Spiel ist damit immer noch krass beliebt und auch Neueinsteiger erstellen Accounts und zocken mit.

Für neue Spieler, die besser in League of Legends werden möchten, gibt es bestimmt den ein oder anderen unbekannten Begriff – dazu zählt auch sicherlich das ganze Tamtam um die LoL Ranks. Was ist das Ranking System, welches Riot Games für League of Legends entwickelt hat, und wie steigt man überhaupt in den einzelnen Ranks auf – was auch als Elo Hell bekannt ist?

Was ist League of Legends Ranked?

Ranked bezieht sich auf das LoL Ranking System, in dem Gamer – freiwillig – spielen können. In diesem System können Spieler, die ihren Account bereits auf Level 30 gebracht haben, Ranked Matches spielen und werden dann je nach Skill in die verschiedenen Ranked Tiers eingeordnet.

In League of Legends gibt es unterschiedliche Spielmodi, wie zum Beispiel ARAM, Normals oder eben Ranked. Spieler auf Stufe 30 schalten in League of Legends den Ranked Mode frei, in dem sie mit Hilfe von Ranked Games LP verdienen können.

Spieler, die doch lieber Normals oder ARAM zocken, müssen sich keine Sorgen um ihren LoL Rank machen.

Welche Ranks gibt es in League of Legends?

Zum jetzigen Stand existieren neun Ranks in League of Legends. Jeder Rang wird durch einen spezifischen Namen und ein individuelles Logo repräsentiert. Damit können LoL Spieler ihr Skill Level ganz einfach differenzieren, da jeder im gleichen Rank und Tier ungefähr das selbe Skill-Level hat.

Das sind die neun Ranks, die es aktuell in League of Legends gibt:

  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Master
  • Grandmaster
  • Challenger
Ranks 2019
Diese Tiers haben wir aktuell in League of Legends. | © Riot Games

Wann wurde der Iron Rank in League eingeführt?

Die unterste Stufe ist Iron – da landen normalerweise Spieler, wenn sie das erste Mal League of Legends probieren. Kurz vor der Ranked Season 9 hat Riot Games dieses Tier 2018 eingeführt. Iron Tier wurde hinzugefügt, damit Spieler ihre Fortschritte besser nachvollziehen können.

Das heißt also: Wenn du ein neuer Spieler bist, der gerade erst angefangen hat, wirst du bestimmt ein bisschen Zeit im Iron Rank verbringen – das sollte dich aber nicht entmutigen. An diesem Ort lernst du nämlich, welcher Champion oder welche Rolle am besten zu dir passt.

Zur gleichen Zeit als der Iron Rank in League of Legends eingeführt wurde, implementierte Riot Games auch einen neuen Rang für die, die es aus den unteren Elos geschafft haben – damit meinen wir alles unter Diamond. Grandmaster kam ebenfalls 2018 dazu, um besser zwischen Master und Challenger Spielern zu unterscheiden, da das Skill-Niveau zwischen den beiden Ranks oft ziemlich groß war.

Was ist LoL Challenger?

Challenger ist der höchste Rang in League of Legends und repräsentiert die Top 300 oder 200 Spieler aus jeder Region. Um es bis ins Challenger Tier zu schaffen, müssen Spieler die vorherigen acht LoL Tiers hinter sich lassen.

Wenn du versuchst, bis zu Challenger zu gelangen, kann es sich sehr oft wie die Elo Hell anfühlen – das liegt am schwierigen Grind und echt bitteren Niederlagen. Die meisten Spieler werden es auch nicht nach Challenger schaffen und bleiben dagegen stuck in Silver oder Gold, also da, wo die allermeisten Spieler verweilen.

Trotzdem muss jeder, der mal Pro werden will, es durch diese Elo Ladder schaffen. Wenn du also von einem professionellen Team gescouted werden oder in ihre Akademie (oder LEC/LCS) aufgenommen werden willst, musst du unter den besten 300 oder 200 Spieler deiner Region sein, nur um dafür in Frage zu kommen.

Lo L Ranks
Welches Icon gefällt dir am besten? | © Riot Games

Wie funktionieren Ranks in League of Legends?

Wie funktionieren Tiers und Divisions in LoL?

Wie wir bereits weiter oben erwähnt haben, gibt es neun Tiers in League of Legends. Jedes LoL Tier ist in vier Divisions unterteilt – jede davon wird von einer römischen Zahl IV bis I repräsentiert.

Spieler können jeden Rang erreichen, sobald sie auf Level 30 gekommen sind. Zuerst musst du also ziemlich viele Games spielen, damit du dir Wissen erarbeitest und irgendwann für die Ranked Ladder freigeschaltet wirst.

Aber wie bewegst du dich eigentlich zwischen den einzelnen Rängen und Divisions in League of Legends? Naja, seit Season 11 hat Riot Games in dieser Hinsicht einige Veränderungen vorgenommen. Spieler müssen jetzt nicht mehr 3 von 5 Matches gewinnen, um eine Division aufzusteigen. Die Möglichkeit, aufzusteigen, ist damit natürlich größer, aber genauso auch die Chance auf einen Abstieg.

Zwischen Tiers zu wechseln ist ein bisschen schwieriger als bei Divisions, denn da musst du eine Best-of-Five Series spielen statt einer Best-of-Three. Da sich die Spieler hier von einem Rang in den anderen bewegen, wird das vermutlich etwas schwieriger als der Auf- und Abstieg zwischen Divisions.

Wie bekommst du deinen ersten Rang in LoL?

Wichtig ist hier zu erwähnen, dass Spieler nicht automatisch in Iron IV – dem niedrigsten Tier und Division in League of Legends – geworfen werden, sobald sie Level 30 sind und sich für ein bisschen Ranked Gameplay entscheiden.

Stattdessen muss jeder Spieler provisorische Ranked Games – auch als Placement Matches bekannt – absolvieren, die dann den offiziellen LoL Rang errechnen. Manche Spieler, die schon relativ krass sind, werden also gleich in Silver II eingeranked, ohne auch nur jemals einen Fuß in Iron oder Bronze gesetzt zu haben.

Es ist für Spieler also extrem wichtig, sich gerade zu Beginn des Ranked-Abenteuers auf die Placement Matches zu fokussieren. Vor allem, wenn man sich auf dem Weg nach Diamond nicht durch jedes Tier kämpfen möchte.

Reddit image Lo L Ranks LP Gain
Nach dem Spiel kannst du sehen, wie deine LP hoch- oder runtergehen. | © Reddit u/Methewix

Was sind LP?

LP ist die Kurzform von League Points, also das, was du brauchst, um zwischen den einzelnen Ranks aufzusteigen. LP erhältst du, indem du Spiele gewinnst. Du kannst bei Niederlagen allerdings auch LP verlieren. Die Menge an LP ist von deiner und von der MMR deines Gegners abhängig – keine Sorge, da kommen wir noch hin.

Gewinne also am besten so viele Spiele hintereinander wie möglich, damit du schnellstens 100 LP erreichst. Sobald du die 100 LP erreicht hast, bekommst du die Chance, aufzusteigen. Zwischen Divisionen musst du dafür eine Best-of-Three Series gewinnen, zwischen Ranks sogar eine Best-of-Five Series.

Bringen wir das alles mal in Perspektive. Du bist aktuell in Platin I, hast die benötigten 100 LP gesammelt und musst jetzt für deine Promotion drei von fünf Spielen gewinnen, damit du in Diamond IV aufsteigst. Wenn du deine Promotion Series verlierst, fallen deine LP zurück auf 0 und du musst in Platin I von vorne anfangen.

Was ist MMR?

Die MMR eines Spielers verweist auf seinen Matchmaking Rang, also eine Nummer, die Riot je nach Skill-Level an dich verteilt. Bedeutet im Umkehrschluss auch: Je niedriger deine MMR und je höher die deiner Gegner ist, desto mehr LP bekommst du – vorausgesetzt, du gewinnst natürlich.

Die Spieler MMR ist abhängig vom jeweiligen Skill-Level; gewinnst du also mehrere Matches hintereinander, erhöht sich deine MMR und du wirst anderen Spielern mit einer ähnlichen MMR gegenüber gestellt. Damit kannst du unter Umständen auch als Silver II Spieler mit einer hohen MMR gegen jemanden aus Gold III antreten.

Provisional Rank Lo L
Was ist deine Elo? | © Riot Games

Worauf bezieht sich Elo in League of Legends?

Elo bezieht sich auf das Elo Ranking System, welches vor dem aktuellen League System benutzt wurde. Das Elo System wurde ursprünglich für Games wie Schach entwickelt und berechnet das Skill Level von jedem Spieler.

Mittlerweile wird Elo als Synonym für deinen League of Legends Rang benutzt. Wenn dich also jemand fragt, in welcher Elo du bist, meint er damit deinen League of Legends Rang.

Wie funktionieren Ränge in Master, Grandmaster und Challenger?

Während bis Diamond noch alle Ränge in Divisions unterteilt sind, gibt es das ab Master nicht mehr. Das heißt, diese Tiers haben ein komplett anderes Ranking System, in dem Spieler durch ihre LP aufsteigen.

Nachdem du deine Promotion Series erfolgreich geschafft hast und ins Master Tier aufgestiegen bist, wirst du auch weiterhin LP verdienen. Spieler mit höheren LP werden die Ranked Ladder von Master zu Grandmaster und schließlich Challenger aufsteigen.

Das System wird jeden Tag aufs Neue zurückgesetzt und Spieler mit mehr LP können Konkurrenten mit weniger LP aus ihrer Position verdrängen. Das sorgt für mehr Transparenz beim höchsten Skill-Niveau von League of Legends.

Es ist außerdem begrenzt, wie viele Spieler jeweils in Challenger oder Grandmaster sind. Zum Beispiel gibt es in EUW Challenger 300 Plätze für die besten Spieler, während es in Grandmaster schon 700 sind.

Was ist LP Decay?

Wenn du es nach stundenlanger Arbeit endlich in Master, Grandmaster oder Challenger geschafft hast, willst du natürlich auch gegen Gegner spielen können. Diese Tiers halten schließlich auch die geringste Anzahl an Spielern, weshalb Riot das LP Decay eingeführt hat. Dadurch verlierst du automatisch LP, wenn du zu viele Tage ohne bestrittenes Match in dieser Queue verbringst.

Lo L Ranked players
Wenn deine LP hoch genug sind, kannst du auch Pro werden. | © Riot Games

Wie verteilen sich die Spieler in den einzelnen Rängen?

Den typischen Durchschnittsspieler wirst du wohl in Silver oder Gold finden. Nach den Zahlen von Leagueofgraphs macht das Silver Tier ungefähr 36% aller League of Legends Spieler aus, Gold liegt mit 29% nur knapp dahinter. Höhere Ränge wie Challenger, wo die Esportler normalerweise zuhause sind, haben natürlich eine deutlich kleinere Anzahl an Spielern.

So sehen die prozentualen Verteilungen der League of Legends Player Base aus:

LoL TierAnzahl der Spieler
Iron1.8%
Bronze18%
Silver36%
Gold29%
Platinum11%
Diamond1.4%
Master0.12%
Grandmaster0.026%
Challenger0.011%

Die Unterschiede zwischen Duo/Solo/Flex Queue?

Es gibt unterschiedliche Wege, wie man Ranked Games in League of Legends zocken kann. Du kannst dich entweder für die Solo Queue entscheiden, in der du alleine spielst und mit vier anderen zusammengewürfelt wirst, oder mit einem Freund die Duo Queue unsicher machen. Support und ADC Duos findet man oft in der Duo Queue.

Solo und Duo Queue sind allerdings nicht die einzigen Möglichkeiten, wie du an ein Ranking kommst. Es gibt nämlich noch ein zweites Ranking System, in dem die Spieler einen Positionen-Rang in der Flex Queue erreichen. Dafür musst du mit vier anderen Freunden in eine Flex Queue reinstarten – aber wer kennt schon so viele Leute, die auch League zocken?

Es ist ebenfalls wichtig zu erwähnen, dass Master Spieler oder höher seit Season 11 nicht mehr in der Duo Queue antreten können. Eingeführt wurde das, um Ranked Games ein bisschen fairer zu machen, da Kommunikation in League of Legends das Wichtigste überhaupt ist. Aus diesem Grund können Spieler mit einer hohen Elo nur Solo Queue zocken.

Dodge Timer
Am besten nicht zu viele Spiele dodgen. | © Riot Games

Queue Dodging und AFK gehen in Ranked

Verlassen oder AFK gehen in Ranked Games kann für dich harte Konsequenzen nach sich ziehen. Wenn du Ranked Spiele überhaupt bestreitest heißt das, dass du die Elo Ladder in League of Legends climben willst – genau wie deine Teammates auch – und wenn du AFK gehst, machst du es für dein Team natürlich deutlich schwerer. Riot hat deshalb empfindliche Strafen für Wiederholungstäter eingebaut.

Um die Inaktivität In-Game zu bekämpfen, hat Riot verschieden Stufen mit unterschiedlichen Bestrafungen erfunden. Tier 0 ist für Leute, die wegen AFK-Delikten noch nicht vorbestraft sind. Das neu hinzugefügte Tier Sieben ist nur für die schlimmsten Regelbrecher gedacht, bei dem die Spieler von der Queue ausgeschlossen werden – sie können also nicht in die MOBA Queues rein starten und haben eine 15-minütige Verzögerung für die nächsten fünf Games.

StufeQueue AusschlussQueue Verzögerung
0NichtsNichts
1Nichts5 Minuten für 5 Spiele
2Nichts10 Minuten für 5 Spiele
3Nichts15 Minuten für 5 Spiele
41 Tag15 Minuten für 5 Spiele
53 Tage15 Minuten für 5 Spiele
67 Tage15 Minuten für 5 Spiele
714 Tage15 Minuten für 5 Spiele

Gutes Benehmen wird von Riot belohnt und Spieler können zeigen, dass sie reformiert sind. Spieler, die in einer der unteren Stufen fürs AFK-Gehen gelandet sind, können sich durch harte Arbeit wieder aus dieser Stufe rauskämpfen. Wenn sich Spieler nicht rehabilitieren, bleiben sie in einer der Stufen stecken und ein einzelner Verstoß gegen die AFK-Regeln bedeutet für sie, dass die Strafe der Stufe entsprechend erneut verhängt wird.

Queue Dodging kann ebenfalls richtig nervig sein, vor allem in höheren Rängen, da dort die Spielerzahl deutlich kleiner als in Gold oder Silver ist. Aus diesem Grund hat Riot auch hier Sanktionen für Wiederholungstäter implementiert.

StufeQueue AusschlussLP Strafe
16 Minuten-3
230 Minuten-10
3720 Minuten (12 Stunden)-10

Jeder Dodge lässt dich eine Stufe aufsteigen und jeder, der mehr als drei Games pro Tag dodged, wird für insgesamt 12 Stunden von der Queue ausgeschlossen. Genauso lange dauert es, bis sich die Dodge Stufen um 1 zurücksetzen.

Was ist eine Ranked Season?

League of Legends besteht aus mehreren Seasons. Jedes Jahr beginnt eine neue Season mit frischen Änderungen an der Map, dem Item Store, den Champions oder anderen Game Mechaniken. Zum Start von jeder neuen League of Legends Season werden die Spieler auch auf 0 zurückgesetzt und müssen erstmal Placement Matches abschließen, damit sie wissen, wo sie aktuell stehen. Spieler, die sowieso einen hohen Rang haben, werden standardmäßig schon in Diamond geranked.

Das bedeutet folgendes: Am Start von jeder Season – normalerweise irgendwann im Januar – beginnt jeder Gamer bei 0 LP und 0 MMR und bahnt sich einmal mehr den Weg durch die Elo Ladder.

Jede League of Legends Season endet ebenfalls irgendwann im November. Während der Pre-Season zwischen zwei LoL Ranked Seasons implementiert Riot Games normalerweise größere Änderungen, die mehr Aufmerksamkeit erfordern. Aus diesem Grund ist in dieser Zeit auch das Ranked deaktiviert.

Victorious Blitzcrank Skin
Blitzcrank bekommt einen Victorious Skin am Ende von Season 11! | © Riot Games

Bekommt man Rewards am Ende einer LoL Ranked Season?

Ja, Riot verteilt am Ende von jeder Ranked Season Rewards. Spieler, die es bis nach Gold oder sogar höher geschafft haben, werden mit einem Victorious Skin sowie Chromas passend zum höchsten erreichten Rang belohnt. Spieler stuck in Silber müssen sich dagegen mit Eternals von dem Champion, den Riot für den Victorious Skin ausgesucht hat, abfinden.

Am Ende der Ranked Season 10 wurde den Spielern Lucian geschenkt, während man in 2021 am Ende von Season 11 mit einem Victorious Skin für Blitzcrank belohnt wird.

Spieler erhalten außerdem noch Profile Banner Trims ihres jeweiligen Rangs am Ende von jeder Ranked Season. Also ja, Riot verteilt tatsächlich Rewards an Spieler, die Zeit in Ranked Play investiert und die Elo Ladder das gesamte Jahr über erklommen haben.

Riot hat auch mal physische Geschenke an Challenger Spieler verschickt, aber das gibt es mittlerweile nicht mehr. Früher haben diese Spieler eine Jacke mit ihrem Summoner Namen und Rang erhalten. Jetzt müssen sie sich aber auch mit einem Victorious Skin und den Skin Chromas abfinden.

Wild Rift Ranks
Wild Rift hat ein paar andere Ränge! | © Riot Games

Nutzen TFT und Wild Rift auch die gleichen LoL Tiers?

Teamfight Tactics und Wild Rift – zwei Games, die ebenfalls von Riot Games entwickelt wurden – haben ähnliche Ränge wie League of Legends. In Wild Rift müssen Spieler auch erstmal eine Promotion Series spielen, wenn sie aufranken wollen.

TFT Spieler gewinnen oder verlieren LP abhängig davon, auf welchem Platz sie unter den Top 8 in jedem TFT Match landen. Spieler erhalten abhängig von diesen Placements eine höhere MMR. Wenn du also ein Gold II Spieler bist und 4 Runden am Stück gewinnst, kannst du theoretisch auf einen Platin II Spieler in deiner Lobby treffen, der ein paar Spiele hintereinander verloren hat.

Wild Rift implementiert Divisions anders als League of Legends. Statt LP gibt es hier für die Division Progression Marks. Darüber hinaus gibt es in Wild Rift noch einen zusätzlichen Rang zwischen Platin und Diamond - den Emerald Rang. Vielleicht bekommen wir den in der Zukunft für League of Legends ja auch?

Ultimate Guide to the League of Legends Ranking System

Have you ever wondered about the LoL ranking system? We have all the information for you right here regarding the LoL ranks.

Lo L Ranks Thumbnail
What is your rank in League of Legends? | © Riot Games

League of Legends is one of the most popular online games. In 2020 alone, League of Legends had over 110 million active players, which goes to show that even though the game is 10-years old, it is still quite popular – it also shows that new players are making accounts and joining.

So, for new players wanting to get better at League of Legends, there are quite a few terms that might seem new to them, one of which is all the talk about LoL ranks. What is the ranking system that Riot Games created in League of Legends and how do you even climb between the different tiers in League of Legends – also known as elo hell? That’s what we’re going to be exploring today.

What is League of Legends Ranked?

Ranked refers to the LoL ranking system in which players can choose to play. In this system, players who have a LoL account at level 30 are able to choose to play ranked matches, which will determine players' ranked tier.

There are different game modes in League of Legends, like ARAM, normals and ranked. Players who reach level 30 in League of Legends unlock ranked mode where they are able to earn LP through ranked games.

Players who choose to play normal games or ARAM won't have their LoL ranks affected.

What Ranks Exist in League of Legends?

There are nine ranks that currently exist in League of Legends. Each rank is represented by a specific name and icon. This way LoL players are able to differentiate their skill level with ease since those in the same rank and tier should have similar proficiency in LoL.

These are the nine ranks that currently exist in League of Legends:

  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Master
  • Grandmaster
  • Challenger
Ranks 2019
These are all the tiers we currently have in League of Legends. | © Riot Games

When was Iron Rank Introduced to League?

The lowest tier is Iron, in which beginners usually land when they first start playing League of Legends. Riot Games introduced the tier in 2018 ahead of Ranked Season 9. Iron tier was added in so players could better visualize their gains when just beginning to play.

So, this means that if you’re a new player just starting out, you’ll most likely end up spending a bit of time in the Iron rank, but it shouldn’t discourage you. This is where you learn which LoL champion or role fits you best.

At the same time, when Iron tier was introduced to League of Legends, Riot Games also implemented a new rank for those who made it out of the lower elos – considered to be anything below Diamond. Grandmaster was also included in 2018 to better differentiate between Master and Challenger players since the skill disparity between these two ranks was often too great.

What is LoL Challenger?

Challenger is the highest rank in League of Legends and represents the top 300 or 200 players of each region. To achieve Challenger rank, players will have to make it through the eight previous LoL tiers.

Making it through those eight tiers to try and get to Challenger will often seem like you’re in elo hell, due to the difficult grind and the tough losses. Most players won’t make it to Challenger either, ending up stuck either in Silver or Gold ranks, which are the most populated.

Though, anyone wanting to go pro will have to make it through this elo ladder. If you want to get scouted by a professional team to make it to their academy, or even LEC/LCS roster, you’ll have to rank within the top 300 or 200 players of your region to be considered.

Lo L Ranks
Which is your favorite icon? | © Riot Games

How do Ranks in League of Legends Work?

How do Tiers and Divisions Work in LoL?

As we mentioned above, there are nine tiers in League of Legends. Each LoL tier is divided up into four divisions – each division being represented by a roman numeral IV to I.

Players are able to achieve any rank once they hit level 30. This means, you must first play a solid number of games wherein you acquire enough game knowledge before being allowed to play games on the ranked ladder.

But how do you move between the ranks and divisions in League of Legends? Well, as of Season 11 Riot Games made some changes to the way to move between divisions. Players don’t have to win 3 out of 5 games anymore to move between divisions. This means players have a higher chance to rank up, but also a higher chance to rank down as well.

Moving between tiers is a little tougher than moving between divisions since it will require players to play a best-of-five series instead of just a best-of-three. Since the players will be jumping from one rank to the next though, it is expected to be a bit tougher than merely jumping between divisions.

How to Get Your First Rank in LoL?

It’s also important to note that players are not automatically thrown into Iron IV – the lowest tier and division in League of Legends – once they hit level 30 and decide to play ranked on their LoL account.

Instead, each player must complete provisional ranked games – also known as placement matches – in which their official LoL rank gets calculated. So some players, who have a high skill level could be placed into Silver II after finishing their placement matches, without ever having stepped foot in Iron or Bronze.

So it is important for players – especially those of you who don't want to fight through every single rank before making it to diamond tier – to focus on their placement matches when starting off playing ranked games.

Reddit image Lo L Ranks LP Gain
At the end of a game you see your LP gains or losses. | © Reddit u/Methewix

What is LP?

LP is short for League Points and is what you need to be able to move between the ranks. You gain LP by winning games, but you’re also able to lose LP when you encounter a defeat. The amount of LP you gain depends on your or your opponents MMR – don’t worry, we’ll get to that soon.

So, while you’re playing, you’ll want to rake in as many wins as possible, so you can gain LP and try to reach 100 LP. Once you’re at 100 LP you’ll be able to enter a promotion series. When moving between divisions within one tier, you’ll have to play a best-of-three series, while moving between ranks means playing a best-of-five.

So, to bring it all into perspective, you’re in Platinum I and finally got that 100 LP you need, then you enter a promotion series in which you need to win 3 games to move up into the Diamond IV tier. If you end up losing in the promotion series your LP drops back to 0 and you get to try to climb all over again in Platinum IV.

What is MMR?

A player's MMR refers to your matchmaking rating, which is a number Riot assigns to you based on your skill level. It also means the lower your MMR and the higher the MMR of your opponent is – and you beat them – the more LP will be gained.

A player's MMR is based on their own skill level, so winning multiple games in a row will heighten their MMR and they will be paired up with players who have a similar MMR in matches. This means that even if you’re in Silver II, but you have a high MMR, you could end up playing against or with someone in Gold III.

Provisional Rank Lo L
What elo are you? | © Riot Games

What Does Elo Refer to in League of Legends?

Elo refers to the elo ranking system which was used before the current League system was implemented. The elo system was originally designed for games like chess and calculates the skill level of players.

These days, elo is used as a synonym for your League of Legends rank. So when someone asks you which ‘elo’ you are, they are referring to your rank in League of Legends.

How do Ranks Work in Master, Grandmaster and Challenger?

While all ranks until Diamond tier are divided into divisions, once you reach Master tier, these divisions are gone. This means these tiers have a different ranking system in which players will move up through their LP.

Once you win your promotion series and make it into the Master tier, you will continue to earn LP. Players with higher LP will climb the ranked ladder from Master to Grandmaster and finally Challenger.

This system is reset every single day and players with higher LP gains can bump out players with less LP from their position. This creates better transparency at the highest League of Legends skill levels.

There is also a cap on how many players can be in either Challenger and Grandmaster. For example, the EUW Challenger holds the top 300 players of the region, while Grandmaster holds 700 players.

What is LP Decay?

So, if you’ve managed to put in the hours and made it to Master, Grandmaster or even Challenger, you’ll want to have opponents to play against. Since these tiers hold the smallest number of players, Riot implemented LP Decay, which refers to you automatically losing LP wehn you've let too many days go by without a match in that queue.

Lo L Ranked players
If your LP is high enough you can make it pro. | © Riot Games

How are Players Distributed Between the Different Ranks?

The average player is most likely situated in Silver and Gold. According to Leagueofgraphs, the Silver Tier makes up around 36% of the League of Legends player base, while Gold makes up around 29%. Higher tiers like Challenger, where esports players usually reside have a much smaller share of players.

These are the percentage distributions of the League of Legends player base:

LoL TierShare of Players
Iron1.8%
Bronze18%
Silver36%
Gold29%
Platinum11%
Diamond1.4%
Master0.12%
Grandmaster0.026%
Challenger0.011%

The Differences Between Duo/Solo/Flex Queue?

There are different ways to enjoy ranking up in League of Legends. You can either choose to play solo queue, in which you play alone and get matched up with four other players or choose to play duo queue with a friend. Support and ADC duos will often queue up together.

Solo and Duo Queue are not the only ways one can achieve a ranking, though. There is a second-ranking system in which players can attain a positional rank in flex queue. This is done by queueing up with four other friends in flex queue – but who really knows that many people who play League?

It is also important to mention that as of Season 11, players in Master tier and above are not able to compete in duo queue anymore. This was implemented to make ranked games fairer since communication is a key factor in League of Legends matches. Therefore, players are only able to play solo queue games in high elo matches.

Dodge Timer
Don't dodge too many games. | © Riot Games

Leaving Dodging and going AFK in Ranked

Leaving or going AFK in ranked games can have dire consequences on you. Playing ranked means that you want to climb the elo ladder in League of Legends – as do your teammates – but by going AFK, you make this quite difficult for your team. Therefore, Riot has implemented severe punishments for repeat offenders.

To combat inactivity in-game, Riot created multiple tiers with varying punishments. Tier 0 is for those who have no priors when it comes to AFKing, while the harshest tier is the newly implemented Tier 7 which means players will be locked out of queue – wherein players will be unable to start games in MOBA queues and have a 15-minute queue delay for the five games.

TierQueue LockoutQueue Delay
0NoneNone
1None5 minutes for 5 games
2None10 minutes for 5 games
3None15 minutes for 5 games
41 Day15 minutes for 5 games
53 Days15 minutes for 5 games
67 Days15 minutes for 5 games
714 Days15 minutes for 5 games

Demonstrating good behavior will be rewarded and players can show that they are reformed, which will mean that if a player has landed in one of the bottom tiers for going AFK, they can work hard to make it out of the bottom tier. If players are not reformed, they will stay in their tier and a single AFK match will mean that the punishments in accordance with their tier will be doled out once more.

Dodging queue can also be annoying, especially in higher ranks, since the player population is much smaller than in Gold or Silver tiers. Therefore, Riot has also implemented penalties for repeat offenders of dodging games.

TierQueue LockoutLP Penalty
16 minutes-3
230 minutes-10
3720 minutes (12 hours)-10

Each dodge means you move up a tier and for anyone who dodges more than three games a day, they will be locked out of the queue for 12 hours, which is how long it will take for the dodge tiers to reset by 1.

What is a Ranked Season?

League of Legends is made up of multiple seasons. Each year, a new season begins with new changes coming to the map, the item store, champions and other game mechanics. At the beginning of each League of Legends ranked season, players are also set back to 0 and must play placement games once more to determine where they stand. Though, players who ranked in high tiers usually end up in Diamond by default.

This means that at the beginning of each season, which is usually sometime in January, each player starts with 0 LP and 0 MMR, working their way through the elo ladder once more.

Each League of Legends Season also ends around November. During the pre-season between LoL ranked seasons, Riot Games usually implements bigger changes that will need more attention, hence, why ranked is disabled during this time.

Victorious Blitzcrank Skin
Blitzcrank is getting a Victorious Skin for the end of Season 11! | © Riot Games

Do You Get Rewards at the End of a LoL Ranked Season?

Yes, Riot does give out ranked rewards at the end of every season. Players who managed to make it into the Gold tier or above will be gifted with a victorious skin and chromas based on their highest achieved rank. Those players stuck in silver and below will have to make do with getting eternals of the champion Riot chose for the victorious skin.

At the end of Ranked season 10, players were gifted Lucian, while in 2021 at the end of Season 11 players will be gifted with a Victorious skin for Blitzcrank.

Players will also gain profile banner trims with their respective rank at the end of a ranked season. So yes, Riot does give out rewards for players who spent time playing ranked while trying to climb the elo ladder of hell throughout the year.

Riot used to also send out physical gifts to players who made it into the Challenger tier, but have since stopped. Players used to be gifted jackets with their summoner name and rank on them, but now, those players will have to be satisfied with getting a victorious skin chroma.

Wild Rift Ranks
Wild Rift has a few other ranks! | © Riot Games

Do TFT and Wild Rift Also Use the Same LoL Tiers?

Teamfight Tactics and Wild Rift, two games also developed by Riot Games have ranks similar to those in League of Legends. In Wild Rift, players will also have to play promotion series when wanting to rank up.

TFT players will win and lose LP depending on their placement in the top 8 of each TFT match. Players also gain higher MMR depending on those placements, so even if you’re a Gold II TFT player and win 4 rounds in a row, you could be paired up against Platinum II players who lost a few games.

Wild Rift does not implement divisions the same way as League of Legends. Instead, they have division progression distinguished by marks. Also, Wild Rift has added an extra tier between Platinum and Diamond called the Emerald tier. Maybe we’ll be receiving this in League of Legends as well in the future?