FIFA 23: Free World Cup History Makers Upgrades Explained

If you've played FIFA 23 before January 3, 2023, you know that you could get a World Cup History Maker for free. We'll explain what these special cards are all about and why you should hold onto them for a little longer.

World Cup History Makers TN
Here are the FIFA 23 World Cup History Makers that you could get for free! | © EarlyGame / EA Sports

At every World Cup crazy new stories are written, records are broken and phenoms develop themselves. EA Sports has also picked out a few players who have made a huge impact for their countries, and gave them away to players for free!

The first step towards unlocking new cards:

The Free World Cup History Makers

EA Sports has assigned a legend of the respective nation to each World Cup History Maker of the current national teams. Anyone who played FIFA 23 between November 9th, 2022 and January 3rd, 2023 should have one of these cards in their possession by now.

World Cup History Makers Release And Upgrades

So, if you have played FIFA 23 until January 3, which we think you certainly have done, you can claim the World Cup History Makers Pack from December 23, 2022, until January 3, 2023, in the FUT Store.

The special cards have already received their first upgrade on January 3 and will get another upgrade on February 14!

These Are The FIFA 23 World Cup History Makers

Apart from the new World Cup History Maker Cards, you could also get a Loan Player Item of the assigned Hero or Icon card for seven matches each.

Here are all the players that you could get:

  • Zinedine Zidane and Kylian Mbappé - France
  • Robin van Persie and Virgil van Dijk - Netherlands
  • Diego Forlán and Federico Valverde - Uruguay
  • Luís Figo and João Félix - Portugal
  • David Beckham and Jude Bellingham - England
  • Rudi Völler and Kai Havertz - Germany
  • Clint Dempsey and Christian Pulisic - USA
  • Xabi Alonso and Pedri - Spain
  • Hidetoshi Nakata and Wataru Endo - Japan
  • Michael Essien and Jordan Ayew - Ghana
  • Rafael Márquez and Raúl Jiménez - Mexico
  • Saeed Al Owairan and Salem Al Dawsari - Saudi Arabia

FIFA 23 World Cup History Makers Ratings

Here are the current ratings of all World Cup History Makers after they received their first upgrade in January:

Virgil van DijkCB87
Kylian MbappéST87
Joao FelixCF85

Federico Valverde

Jude BellinghamCM85
Kai Havertz
Raúl JiménezST83
Christian Pulisic


Wataru Endo
Salem Al DawsariLW82
Jordan Ayew

Let's be honest, guys... what are we supposed to do with these cards? Every single player already got a special card that is miles better than this trash. We don't get it, EA. Maybe some of them would have been playable in the first few weeks of FUT.

Once the second upgrade on February 14 gets released, you can use your history maker as SBC fodder. These rating just don't match the power level of FIFA 23... weird promo, right?

This article contains affiliate links which are marked with [shopping symbol]. These links can provide a small commission for us under certain conditions. This never affects the products price for you.

Contributions by