Fortnite Soundwave Event: Music Show with Gen Hoshino

It's time for Fortnite's 4th Soundwave Event! This time it's with Japanese popstar and music producer Gen Hoshino...
Fortnite soundwave gen hoshino
Soundwave is returning! | © Epic Games

Last September, Fortnite announced a brand-new music event series called Soundwave. The Soundwave series has featured a vast array of artists from all around the world, all of whom have performed live on Fortnite's stage.

Each show offers its own in-game interactive experience. Back in October 2021, Egyptian superstar Mohamed Hamaki performed in Fortnite and, in January, Australian singer-songwriter Tones and I also took to the stage. Most recently, though, it was Emicida's turn, a Brazilian rapper who gave one hell of a performance. Now, though, it's time for Japanese popstar and music producer Gen Hoshino to step into the spotlight...


How Can I Participate in Fortnite's New Soundwave Event?

To be part of Fortnite's latest Soundwave Event, you will need to join the Soundwave Series: Gen Hoshino mode in the Discover tile. The event will take place starting on Thursday, June 9 at 14:00 CEST / 08:00 EST, or via the island code 6831-7094-7130. The show will repeat continuously for 72 hours, until Sunday, June 12 at 14:00 CEST / 08:00 EST, so it's not a problem at all if you can't join straight away.


You'll also have the option to watch the show via picture-in-picture in Battle Royale mode. However, this is only possible at certain times during the event, accessible via the settings menu. The interactive elements are, of course, not playable via the picture-in-picture function, though. In addition, the function is only possible at the following times:

  • Thursday, June 9 at 14:00 CEST / 08:00 EST
  • Friday, June 10 at 21:00 CEST / 15:00 EST
  • Saturday, June 11 at 20:00 CEST / 14:00 EST

How Do I Get the Free Soundwave Cosmetics?

Of course, there will also be matching cosmetics for the event. If you attend the show live, you'll receive the free "Soundwave Series – Gen Hoshino" Spray painting as a souvenir and also some XP for your Battle Pass!


How Do I Get the "Koi Dance" Emote?

Should you be a hardcore Gen Hoshino fan, then you can pick up the Koi Dance Emote in the Item Store to match the Event. It will probably cost between 300 and 500 V-Bucks, though we haven't been able to verify that at this stage. It will be available throughout the duration of this event.


Which Artist Will Be Performing at the Next Soundwave Event?

In the coming months, you'll also be able to catch record-breaking Malian-French singer Aya Nakamura's show in Fortnite. We will, of course, keep you updated when this artist joins the Soundwave Series. For now, though, enjoy the show...

This article was originally written by Alisa Eiber.