Overwatch 2 Start Time & Pre-Load – When The Game Launches & How to Download Now

Overwatch 2 is waiting in the wings, and is already available for pre-load. We will tell you all about the exact start time and how to download it now.

Overwatch 2
Overwatch 2: Start Time & Pre-Load explained. | © Blizzard Entertainment

The big release of Overwatch 2 is almost here. Although it is basically an upgraded version of the original Overwatch, it really feels like we're getting an entire new game and we're excited. The big question is of course: when can we finally start playing the game? Thankfully, we know the exact start time. And double thankfully, you can already pre-load Overwatch 2 as well. Here's everything you need to know about start time and pre-load for Overwatch 2!

Overwatch 2 Start Time

The release of Overwatch 2 is planned for October 4. The game will go online at 12 PM PDT, 2 PM CDT, 7 PM UTC, 8 PM BST, 9 PM CEST and 6AM AEDT. For most regions, the release is on the 4th, but for some Asian countries or Australia and New Zealand, it will be the 5th of October. So you have to still be a bit patient, until you can play Overwatch 2. However, you can already download the game right now.

Overwatch 2 Pre-Load – How To Download Right Now

Although the game hasn't been released yet, Overwatch 2 is already available for download. For existing players, Overwatch 2 will get installed as an Update for the original game. There is one catch though: you can only download the update before the official release, if you already have Overwatch 1 on your PC or bought the Overwatch 2 Watchpoint Pack. Everyone coming in fresh to Overwatch 2 without having played the first game has to wait until the official start time though.

If you would like to play right at release, we highly recommend downloading the update in advance to avoid longer loading times. Overwatch 2 is a pretty big game, so the download might take a while on some devices. Before you load the game though, you should make sure that your Battle.Net account is complete, because with the new anti-toxicity and anti-cheat program, you'll need to link your account to your phone number, otherwise you won't be able to play Overwatch anymore.

Did you know about new characters joining Overwatch 2? Here's everything you need to know: