Sony Begin PS5 Giveaway Event: Treat Codes

Sony are giving away 14 PS5s for free, and you can get one. All you need to do is find one of their secret Treat Codes, that will appear “in unexpected places around the world”. Let the games begin…

Treat Codes Giveaway event
This is your chance to get in on next-gen. | © Sony

We all want a next-gen console, right? That's why we have teenage scalpers becoming millionaires. And before we get into the whole “which console is better argument”, let's just agree getting either would be great. But what about getting a console for free? Wouldn't that be something special? Well, pay attention to any big pop culture events in the next two weeks and if you're good at spotting codes and patterns, a free PS5 might very well be yours.

Find A “Treat Code” To Win A PS5

Sony began leaving a mysterious breadcrumb trail of special codes (resembling PlayStation controller inputs) all across the world on February 15, 2022. If you can find one of these codes, then you can win a PS5. It's basically a treasure hunt, but it's more random and there are no clues. You just need to be able to recognize a PlayStation controller input. Here's where you can apparently find the codes:

a series of 14 unique codes resembling PlayStation controller inputs will appear online, on social media channels, and in unexpected places around the world, such as high-profile events involving sports, gaming, film, and music.

Very mysterious indeed. But if you get lucky and spot one, enter the code on the “Treat Codes” website by 10:00 PST (13:00 ET, 18:00 GMT, 19:00 CET) on March 7, 2022, and you might win a PS5.

What Does A PlayStation Controller Input Code Look Like?

The codes will look something like this: L2, Triangle, R1, Circle, L1, X, Left D-pad, Right D-pad, R2, Square. Reminds me of the days of GTA cheat codes, which is probably exactly what they were going for. But we have no idea where these might be placed, or how grand this project is, so you're on your own now. Good luck on the hunt for a free PS5!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.